PRS Bass for someone who plays bass occasionally

shinksma

What? I get a title?
Hey folks,

Let's cover all the bases/basses here:

:p

So it occurred to me that I'm missing a PRS bass in my collection. I have a couple of P-bass clones at home, one that is actually OK to play. I typically have used a bandmate's Yamaha (I think) bass when recording for our CDs or film soundtracks because it was handy in their home-studio.

But I would like to have my own "good" bass, especially now that I am re-assembling my own home studio.

I had a hankering for an SE bass, especially the Kingfisher - they seem to be nice quality at a good price range. But I held off because I've always wanted to play a 5-string bass - seems like it would give me some extra range, and should be just as easy for me to adapt to playing as properly learning the 4-string (I can play, but I'm no expert). If PRS came out with a 5-string SE priced not too much more than the current SEs, I'd jump on it.

So that leads me to the GG-5 model. And there are some nice ones out there on the used market. I think I want a maple neck & fretboard, but I also think I would find an IRW board acceptable.

Or, I could go with a "regular" GG-4, on the assumption it is going to have some subtle improvements over the SE line, much as a core does over the SE line.

How are the older core non-GG basses? A co-worker, who plays bass professionally (weekend warrior, like me, I suppose) tried an older used 5-string non-GG PRS bass a few months back and was not impressed - he felt other well-known brands at half the price new played better. :shrug:

Anyone here with lots of experience with the range of PRS Basses?