Please tell me this is fixable

Sage

While you were partying I studied the guitar.
I made a boneheaded mistake by assembling some shelves in my studio today and sure enough I knocked a piece of lumber right into my favorite guitar, my 2008 Custom 24. Huge chip in the finish right on the front.

ding1.jpg

ding2.jpg

Somebody please, please, please tell me this is fixable without a complete refinish. She's my most precious girl, I know I should've put her in her case but I left her on a stand right next to where I was working, I don't know what I was thinking...

I've seen PTC rebuild guitars from a pile of sawdust and some screws - if anyone can do it, and well, it's them!

It's fixable. If you don't want a total refin then we have to do a spot repair. Since the wood has been crushed-in, the repair may not be 100% unnoticeable. It will look good and it will be flat, but if you really give the guitar a good evaluation, you will be able to find the repair. The good news is that your eye won't be drawn to it immediately like it is now.

It's fixable. If you don't want a total refin then we have to do a spot repair. Since the wood has been crushed-in, the repair may not be 100% unnoticeable. It will look good and it will be flat, but if you really give the guitar a good evaluation, you will be able to find the repair. The good news is that your eye won't be drawn to it immediately like it is now.

Thank goodness! You have no idea how relieved I am to hear that. I was so upset last night because this really is my favorite guitar, the best guitar I've ever owned. A repair that is noticeable upon examination, but doesn't draw the eye, is way better than what's there now. Thank you so much for the response, Shawn.

I wouldn't be afraid of a PTC refinish.