Picks/Plectrums Discussion

JSanta585

I've recently gone off the deep end trying out new picks. I have been a Jazz III player since I was 17, so going on 15 years. When I made an attempt with Gypsy Jazz, the world of boutique picks was introduced to me, and I started playing around with different materials and price points.

I had been using the John Petrucci Jazz IIIs, both the oxblood primetones and the shield picks. They're great, but I found that they are both a bit chimey. I then upped the price point and bought a a Winspear. Great sounding and feeling pick, but ultimately I found it to be too thick (4mm). It released a lot of tension in my picking hand, but just felt too big to hold.

But, I found my Holy Grail pick - a Red Bear Guthrie Govan signature pick. It is mellower and rounder sounding than the Jazz IIIs, and it simply does not move out of my fingers, and no death grip required. I'm absolutely enamoured with the pick. They are not cheap - $35 for one, but I like it so much I emailed the company and asked how I could get a couple more just in case (I haven't lost a pick in ages honestly).

I know some people will give me a hard time about spending that kind of money on a pick, but I have to say, it's well worth it. We experiment with so much for tone, and this pick seems to have done it for me.

Any way, picture of the pick below, and a link to get on the notification list when they're back in stock. The company told me yesterday they usually have enough made to release a batch each month.

What are you all using?

http://www.redbeartrading.com/ccp8/index.php?app=ecom&ns=prodshow&ref=GG

MAx8Etx.jpg

Last edited:
I have at least one of each of the picks made by Dragon's Heart Guitar Picks. My go-to is the Hardened Dragon's Heart - it's got some serious thickness, which makes it easy to grip, and I am quite fond of the clear tone it produces. For a warmer tone, I use the Golden Dragon Faux Dragon's Heart.

http://www.dragonsheartguitarpicks.com/