Pattern Thin vs. Pattern Regular?

SPORT

Greetings gang,

Relative newbie here.

A lil background. I've played rhythm acoustic off and on much of my life (20+ years) with an Ovation roundback. Then about 3 years ago I bought my first electric (>>>Ibanez Artcore AM93 semi hollow<<<) to learn leads on. Shortly after I bought a Rondo sold electric (>>>Douglas 625<<<) and use it primarily as my practice/beat-it-up guitar. The Ibanez is slightly fatter, and slower than the Douglas. I'm now beginning to see some differences in neck profiles and was wondering if anyone here would be willing to shed their experience and thoughts on the subject.

I've been following the other thread about how large handers don't care about profile...

Based on my very limited understanding, I'm leaning towards the Pattern Regular profile, as my desire is in the area of lead guitar. Anybody have thoughts?

Thanks!

My best recommendation would be to hit up a local dealer and play a few different models with the different profiles. I've played Wide Fat, Pattern, Wide Thin, Pattern Thin, DGT, and I think I've played a Regular before but cannot remember for certain. My impressions overall is that the differences are not huge between the various neck profiles. Wide Fat / Pattern feel the biggest to me but are still very comfortable. Transitioning to the other profiles is really easy.

As a point of reference, I have 3 Wide Fat necks, 1 Pattern, and 1 Pattern Thin neck I play regularly. In the upper registers, say above the 9th fret, the differences I feel in neck profile is negligible, whereas around the nut the size difference can be felt.