Nuggets for Newbies

rugerpc

A♥ hoards guitars ♥A Soldier 25, DFZ
We have a wide range of knowledge and experience on the forum, from people just starting their musical journey to grizzed veterans. We have recording musicians, gigging musicians and talented basement commandos. There is knowledge here. Knowledge that can be of use to players who have less experience or may just be starting out.

This thread is a 'pay it forward' for knowledge. And because it should be useful for the absolute beginner, no useful information, however simple, will be turned away.

I will, however remove non-contributory and negative posts. If you have a different approach to something that has already been posted, just tell us how you do it and leave the evaluation of usefulness of different approaches to the reader.

Remember, really basic is OK. We're going on the notion that this could be a useful reference for newbies.

I'll start.

Tuning can be a challenge for the new player. Even more so with a trem on the guitar. With that in mind, here's my first fhought on tuning: tune UP to pitch slowly. If you go past, tune slightly lower and start again going UP.

The reason is that even well cut and lubricated nut slots can bind the string during tuning, holding more tension on the tuning peg side of the nut than on the playing side when loosening strings. If you tune DOWN to pitch, at some point during playing, the string is going to slip and equalize that tension and your string will go flat. For some reason, it doesn't seem to happen that way when tuning UP.

Tuning tips got me to thinking about string changes. When changing strings, stretch them with your finger a couple times to get them to stay in tune more quickly. Put your finger under each string and pull up about as much as you would bending the string when playing (or a little more). Tug a little and then let it relax. Then retune again. The strings will stay in tune better after the stretching.

Great thread idea!