My first PRS SE model and I'm impressed!

Ken Kelly

Hello to all, please bare with me as I'm a newbie to this forum :)

I purchased a PRS Mark Tremonti SE online, I received it today. This is the first guitar that I have ever purchased without inspecting and playing. My first impression was it had a beautiful fit and finish with the weight of an LP. After letting it warm up to room tempature, I tuned her up and she played silky smooth and preformed just as I had hoped she would. I must say that's impressive coming from Korea. I love the feel of the wide thin neck, fits make hand nicely. I'm was bit dissappointed to find that the neck is a three piece. They're strong as steel, but sometimes sound brighter. May be helpful to some if this were noted in the guitars description. There is a minute imperfection next to the G tuner on the headstock. It's visible but I can't feel the imperfection. I'll have it inspected by a friend and local luthier and then contact the seller.

Last edited:
Care to show us your crack? Make sure your G string is out of the way.

If it really is flawed in a significant way, I'm sure your dealer and/or PRS will make it right for you. Give them a chance, they're awesome with customer service.

Regarding the three piece maple neck... why the hate? I have an SE CU24 with three piece maple neck and it's the most stable guitar I own. Hell, I dropped it directly on the headstock on to a stage after a gig once and it didn't even flinch. Not to mention, it gets taken out for gigs and recording more than any other of my guitars too. Strangely, it's not my favorite guitar, because I don't really care for maple necks in general. But, that aside, there's no conceivable way the guitar could be better with a one piece neck.