Key/Mode question

Thunderhawk

So 30 Seconds To Mars' song The Kill is supposedly in C.
That's what all the chord charts say anyway. However I noticed that there is an F# in there. So this isn't in C major. If it were there would be an F. So the D would be a Dm which doesn't fit when played and certainly the F chord doesn't fit either. But since there is an F# wouldn't it be in either G or C Lydian? I'm a little confused about this. I understand modes well enough, so is it an assumed C Lydian or is everyone wrong and it's in G?
Thanks for all the help in advance.

By the way this is my first post. I will have a NGD here next week with my first PRS!! Really exited!

First of all - welcome to the forum! And congrats on the impending NGD. I look forward to the pics.

As for your question, I'm looking forward to the answer myself. I'm just getting into modes, but we've got quite a few theory experts in the community.

...Paging Em7...

Okay, I managed to find a tab for the “The Kill (Bury Me)” that contains F# (http://www.911tabs.com/link/?6956292). The chords found on the tab are C5, D5, E5, F#5, G5, A5, and B5 (with octave dyads thrown in for good measure). There's only one musical key that contains a single sharp symbol; namely, G major. The sharp symbol in the key signature for G major just happens to reside on the F line.

keysigs_clip_image002_0001.jpg

Code:
G Chromatic: G, G#, A, A#, B, C, C#, D, D#, E, F, F#, G
Interval pattern for a the major scale:  WWHWWWH

G, G#, A, A#, B, C, C#, D, D#, E, F, F#, G
       W      W  H      W      W     W   H
1      2      3  4      5      6     7   8(scale degree number 1 one octave up in frequency)

C is the 4th scale degree in G major; therefore, if the tab that I referenced is correct, then “The Kill (Bury Me)” is indeed in C Lydian, not C major. The key of E minor/G major is the most common musical key in rock music. When in doubt, solo in Em pentatonic. :laugh:

Awesome, thanks!