I know this is a dumb question

Chris528

I have a Vox Lil' Night Train head with matching 1x10 cab. I want to upgrade to a 12" cab and found a used Tuxedo 112 cab for the same price as the Vox 112 new. The Tuxedo is 60w and the Vox is 25w so was wondering if I should go with the Vox since the head is only 2w? I also thought the Tuxedo might be better to get so i could eventually get the matching head for it..

Sorry for the dumb question, but I'm new to the world of tube amps.

The only thing that is dumb about the question is that the PRS Amps sub-forum is not the place to discuss Vox amps. The sub-forum description is "Discuss PRS Amplifiers, CAD Amplifiers, and PRS SE Amplifiers."

I know that we are all trying to get used to the constrained nature of the official PRS Forum. However, we have to remember that the official PRS Forum is not a general PRS community forum. PRS is footing the bill for what is effectively an extension of the company's marketing department. A better place to ask non-PRS amp-related questions is Vintage Rocker. Many of the members this forum are also members of Vintage Rocker. Out of respect for PRS, I have refrained from answering non-PRS amp-related questions in this sub-forum. I will gladly answer these types of questions over on Vintage Rocker.

I love the sound of a Vintage AC15. LOVE it.

I am told (by Junior Clark) that the CAD guys have a Voxy/Chimey mod for their amps that might be worth looking into.

Markie has a sweet little Vox (set-up at his place) and it got a workout while I was there last month!

Oh... and no forum police, please. If something crosses the line, we'll handle it.

Last edited:
PRS "30" amp with Vox mod

]-[ @ n $ 0 |v| a T ! ©;30144 said:
I love the sound of a Vintage AC15. LOVE it.

I am told (by Junior Clark) that the CAD guys have a Voxy/Chimey mod for their amps that might be worth looking into.

Markie has a sweet little Vox (set-up at his place) and it got a workout while I was there last month!