Humidification - Who is using what?

JPHoush

Humidification for acoustics during the winter heating season can be a challenge. I have been using the Oasis system in the guitar case for a few years along with a small room humidifier. I also check the humidity in the room with a digital hygrometer (also an Oasis brand product).
I don't have a PRS acoustic, just Martins and R. Taylors. The Martins are the most finicky of the bunch. I think the lacquer finish shows any and all shrinkage/expansion of the wood more than the poly finish of the R. Taylors.
What is working for you?

I have a PS PRS acoustic with a nitro finish, but have also had PRS, Martins, and Collings with nitro in the past.

My whole-house humidifier is unable to provide sufficient humidification for the guitars. However I also humidify the room I keep the guitars in with an Air-O-Swiss s450 steam humidifier. I keep the R/H around 40. It's enough to prevent problems from lack of humidity.

Probably like you, I've experimented quite a bit in keeping guitars humidified because I'm alarmingly OCD about the guitars. Here's what I've found works for me, YMMV:

1. Case and guitar humidifiers haven't done me well over the years. I've just never had acceptable results using them. I've had the long green tubes you wet and stick in the guitars, the ones that clip onto the strings, the blocks of plaster in a little case you soak to absorb water and stick in the guitar case, and in the late 60s even followed the traditional advice of sticking a potato in a plastic bag pierced with holes and then put in the case, which is the worst idea anyone ever came up with, took months to get rid of the potato smell...anyway, none of these worked well for me, and I found that if you put enough moisture in the green tubes you stick in the guitar to matter, they drip inside the guitar causing a different problem.