Help with new SE. high E saddle can’t go down any further.

Ticojpunk

Just got an SE Standard 24-08 from Sweetwater. I put 9.5-46 strings in it, checked neck relief and tightened the trem springs to being the bridge back to parallel. Action was a little higher with the slightly heavier strings. But I noticed that out of the box my high E saddle was all the way down so I’ve no room to adjust it lower. Could it be I need to lower my 6 bridge screws? I’m new to these bridges so understanding how they work. My bridge is pretty much dead on 1/16” above the body. Any thoughts on what to do here?

For now, I’ve tightened the truss rod. Relief is on the lower side, .006 about. That brings action to a playable level but I prefer to have some more proper neck relief and I still have no way to lower that E if I need to.

Don't lower the bridge screws, something else is not right. I would run the neck straight to get some adjustment. Just looked at my 2 guitars, my necks are to the eye straight and I can go lower on the strings. I already have them way lower than what is factory recommended.

Last edited:
That neck relieve is in the zone of where I like mine. I run my necks almost straight. I tend to put about .005" relieve in them. I have had to lower the trem a little bit on a couple of mine. The one I bought in the fall I had to lower it 1/4 turn on each screw to get it where I wanted it. You have to be very careful if you adjust those screws. There is a knife edge that runs in the groove of the screws. You don't want to mess that up.