Custom 22 or DGT for Clean Soul/Funk Tones?

colgan

Hi,
I'm new to delving into the world of PRS models. I've been looking at the Custom 22 and DGT for Clean Soul/Funk, Jazzy tones and these are within budget on the used market here in the UK, the Custom more frequently.

A lot of the players I like in the styles mentioned above use solid body PRS and get a nice full punchy clean tone. The clip here (link may not work as it's my 1st post) shows Randy Bowland on the left who nails the tone I am after:
Summertime - PRS Demo Room:

From review clips I like the neck clean tone of the Custom 22 a lot and this seems a good match. The DGT also sounds excellent.

In user's experiences here are the Custom 22 and DGT well suited to this style of music and is one more suited in particular?

Thanks for reading.

Last edited:
Welcome Colgan.

Both guitars do clean very well. There are differences in how you might feel with the guitar. I like the big frets on the DGT, and the 2 volume controls.

Colgan, keep in mind that a humbucker at full volume will have more output, and therefore push the amp harder, causing it to break up a little, so using your guitar’s volume control is important in getting a good clean tone.

Frankly, any PRS can do well with it. There’s no magic formula.

Last edited:
Welcome to the Forum!

I think either could get you there. Personally, I like the neck profile and bigger frets on the DGT. Plus two volume controls.

it appears that guitar is the special narrow field neck pickup,that looks like where a lot of the tone is coming from that you are after. there's enough PRS guys there that we can probably tell you exactly what guitar that is.

it looks like it is some sort of version of the PRS 408,
because the bridge pickup also looks like a Widefield bridge.
but I can't see the mini toggle switches, it also has a fixed bridge no tremolo

do you want to tremolo? if you want that tone I think you might need that guitar.