Changing tubes for the first time

Feral McElreavy

Hey all,

I'm a noob to the interior guts of these tube amps, but I'm changing my 2014 100 watt archon's preamp tubes later today. After researching as much as I can, it sounds like power tubes are too dangerous for me to do alone, so I'm sticking to just the preamps. I'll have a tech do the power section, especiallly with the potential need to rebias the amp.

I wanted to ask, are there any special precautions I should take when changing the preamp tubes/removing the metal covers? I'll use gloves to keep my fingers off the tubes, I'll unplug the amp and put it on the "on" position for 60 seconds to drain power, I'll use electrical contact cleaner etc.. Is it safe to remove the amp from it's outer casing? I don't know how else I could reach the tubes.

I don't particularly want to die.

Thanks in advance!

You'all be fine! No gloves necessary on the tubes, unless they're hot. There's an old internet/wives tale that finger oils will cause hot spots on the glass and the tubes will crack... it's BS. The place you need to be most careful is when you're actually inside the amp chassis, which you would need to take out of the head box to get to. Some recommend keeping one hand in a back pocket when changing tubes, or doing other amp work, to reduce the risk of a shock grounding through your chest (from one arm to the other). Personally, when changing tubes, I don't worry that much, I just keep that second hand off any metal parts in the amp.