Better Learning Tool: Looper vs Trio

jdag

I am about 6 months into my guitar journey, and feel I am making "admirable" progress...which is to say I now kind of feel like I can play the guitar...horribly, but I know enough to be excited about continuing this challenge.

I've been experimenting playing over some backing tracks as well as using "Session Mode" in the Rocksmith program. That's led me to a couple of tools and I am considering: a looper pedal or the Trio "Band Creator".

I understand the functionality of both, so I am really more interested in opinions from seasoned players as to which would benefit a novice more.

Thanks in advance.

So I am an advanced novice. I started playing again 3 years ago and have since learned that the looper is a pedal everyone should own. Now my advice is to not get too advanced with the looper as I have found that using a basic looper is a lot of fun.

I see you are using Rocksmith so you are already comfortable plugging into the computer so I would give the DAW path a look. When it gets more complicated I actually prefer leaving the pedal path and using a DAW. I am currently using a Focusrite interface and Amplitube 4. This gives me a LOT more options for about the same money as the Trio with a 8 track recorder, loopers and tons of amp/effect models to play with.

All that being said I still love my regular old looper pedal and my tube amp for doing basic rhythm loops that I then play scales/riffs over the top off.

just my 2 cents

Steve

I've also heard good things about the BeatBuddy, if you're looking to go the pedal route.