Archtop pickups?

matonanjin

what are the thoughts on archtop pickups? How are they different from other humbucker type PRS pickups? How would they sound differently than the humbuckers in my Paul's? I'm looking at a Hollowbody I with them. Should I ever learn to play it would be used for blues & blues/rock.

They were an underwound version of the original McCarty pickups (which were a somewhat overwound PAF type). They're very low resistance and low output for humbuckers. Surprisingly though, they can sound a bit wooly especially in the neck position. They're great for a fat and warm jazz or blues tone, but they're not the best for rock with gain.

Compared to the Paul's pickups, it's night and day. To me, those narrow 408 pups are powerful, on the brighter side, with fantastic clarity. They can do anything, whereas I feel like the Archtop pups are limited.

I am pretty new to the Archtop pickups in my HBII but I liked them enough at first play to to try and get it from the owner at the time.
I find them a GREAT fit for this guitar they they sound great with gain or clean to me.
To me the 408s have a flatter overall EQ curve ( balanced might also fit ) the Archtops like like most buckers have some peaks and valleys that give them there sound.
The 408 pickups are hard to compare with other humbucker for me they have a different ( wonderful ) feel and attack and EQ , I love them especially when searching for a new tone or tweaking a new amp and they are my #1 for first jams

They sound great in my Hollowbody Spruce, for jazz and rock. With the gain up they rock, and the guitar does not feed back like I thought it would. i think they are a perfect fit for a hollowbody guitar.