2 Channel H combo question - tube(s) rattling?

Ron

My 2011 H is making a strange noise. I'm not an expert so forgive me if I don't describe it correctly. If I tap on the top of the cabinet I hear rattling and it's also audible through the speaker. It's not the reverb. Could a tube be loose? I've also been hearing a pinging sound when say hitting an open chord. I say ping because it's a high pitch over tone. I don't think it's my guitar as I don't hear it through other sources.

Thanks for any suggestions. If that's too vague I'll try to describe it more.

Definitely sounds like a tube on it's way out, is the sound distorting earlier than it used to? Have you tried, carefully and with the amp off and cooled down, to simply take the tubes out and re-seat them in their sockets? I had similar in my EL34 Koch amp and it turned out that one of the power tubes was on it's way out. Does PRS have diagnostic process they could go through with you?

Thanks for the suggestions guys. I've wonder about the microphonic tube scenario. Based on the video it doesn't seem to be the same issue, but I guess that could vary. I will pull the back off and check to see if any tubes are loose. I won't go much further than that. This amp, although a 2011, probably has less than 50 hours on it and has spent most of it's life here at home. I've had to replace the stand-by bulb and now possible tube issues sure disappoints me.

There was a thread on here a couple weeks ago about trouble shooting your amp. It had a video to walk you through the steps. It's good info and a good place to start.